Welcome Writing Warriors and Sunday Snippetters!

Welcome to my snippet!

Every Sunday writers and bloggers share 8 sentences of writing, published or unpublished. Visit other participants on the list and read, critique, and comment on their 8 sentence posts. Spread the word because the more the merrier!

Here’s the first snippet of my sci fi-ish story with the horrible working title of The Unforgiven Two. My MC, 16 y/o high school junior Psyche Foss, is eating lunch with her best friend Heather. Something pretty shocking just happened to Psyche, so it’s a good thing she has chocolate.

 By the time Heather caught up, Psyche had emptied half the contents of her backpack onto the seat in front of her.

“Is that Lindy’s chocolate cake?”

Psyche nodded and stuffed a large bite into her mouth.

“To make the first day of school just a little bit sweeter,” Heather said in her worst Indian accent.  “How much cake do you have in there?”

“Nevermind,” Psyche said around a mouthful of triple-layer chocolate cake with homemade fudge buttercream frosting. She swallowed loudly and fixed Heather with an appraising look.

“I think the fact that I can lovingly mock both your dads with one sentence gets me cake.”

Thanks for reading!

I’ve recently submitted this novel to Harmony Ink. So far, every manuscript I’ve snippetted while it was on sub has been published—ergo, it’s good luck. This is my first time posting a YA snippet, so I hope you like it and will come back next week for more! I’m also working on a short story for Harmony Ink’s “First Times” anthology, so I may post from that too. Hopefully I’ll be able to share more about these stories soon (and it’ll be good news).

Don’t forget to hop around and sample the snippetry!

Weekend Writing Warriors            Snippet Sunday

1464628_182204511985694_1312997589_n

9 responses

  1. Very visual writing–fluid, moves the reader through the scene. “…triple-layer chocolate cake with homemade fudge buttercream frosting.” (I’m hungry!) Nicely done 🙂

    December 29, 2013 at 8:22 am

  2. Thanks, Teresa! 😀

    December 29, 2013 at 10:08 am

  3. congrats on the wewriwa lucky charm 🙂 Good luck with this one as well. I cant wait to see what has Psyche stressed out

    December 29, 2013 at 11:00 am

  4. Hey, good luck! Now I’m curious about Psyche’s Dads… presumably one has the Indian accent. But I’m not quite sure how Heather managed to mock the other too. Thanks for sharing, and it’s great to meet you.chriskelworth

    December 29, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    • Thanks, great to meet you too, Chris!

      And thanks for pointing that out. The line is one of Lindy’s, but I’ll have to double check & be sure that’s obvious when reading the whole story. 🙂

      December 29, 2013 at 8:45 pm

  5. The cake sounds yummy. (I fogot to sign up, but my piece is up.)

    December 29, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    • Thanks, Sue! I’ll have to zip over & see yours!

      December 29, 2013 at 8:46 pm

  6. Pingback: Welcome Writing Warriors and Sunday Snippetters! | Charli Green: YA LGBT Fiction, Books for the Bs

Let your voice be heard!

