Taking another stab at it.

480757_438719269537453_1567642478_n

Hiya! I’m back and I’ve brought Psyche with me for another snippet.

This one takes place after Psyche’s run-in with her principal. (Previous snippets are here.) She’s studying in her room when her brother Oly comes in to see how she’s doing and give her a hug. He heard their dad’s half of the conversation when the principal called about why Psyche had detention on the first day of school. The first line is Psyche’s.

“My cover’s blown.”

“How’s that, detective?”

“I’m serious, someone wrote single on my locker in black Sharpie—the defacing incident was me smearing it beyond recognition.”

“Damn.”

Psyche shrugged and Oly pulled back to study her. “We have to tell Dad.”

“Why would anyone at school even care?”

“If they’re Naturalists they might.”

Thanks for reading!

1494f-wewriwa_button

And thanks for coming back. I tried to give up on this story (and a couple other YA manuscriptss in various stages of completion), but I just couldn’t. So. This novel is out on sub, and another publisher has expressed cautious interest—so we’ll see what happens. *fingers crossed*

Don’t forget to hop around and check out the rest of the snippets! The Snippet Sunday group is amazing, and you’re bound to find something cool on the list at Weekend Writing Warriors!

 1464628_182204511985694_1312997589_n

13 responses

  1. I am intrigued. I hope you’ll post more of this on a regular (weekly!) basis.

    February 22, 2014 at 9:24 pm

    • Thanks! That’s the plan atm. 🙂

      February 22, 2014 at 10:07 pm

  2. I like this snippet. I’m going to have to read some of the other snippets you’ve posted from it, and hope you keep posting. Good luck with the submission process!

    February 23, 2014 at 2:52 am

  3. I wonder who wrote “single” and why, maybe she has a secret admirer.

    February 23, 2014 at 5:02 am

  4. Very nice–it has me intrigued. Good luck with it!

    February 23, 2014 at 6:00 am

  5. I like this—I don’t know why I’ve missed the other snippets, but now that I’m caught up, I’m hooked!

    February 23, 2014 at 7:17 am

  6. Now I’m curious why ‘single,’ would be so inflammatory. Good job. Hope you have good luck with the publisher.

    February 23, 2014 at 8:51 am

  7. Best wishes on the submission process! I enjoyed the snippet, all very mysterious but inagoodway, so that I’d definitely keep reading.

    February 23, 2014 at 10:18 am

  8. Thanks for commenting, everyone! I’ve been working on this story for a looooooooong time & it’s nice to know it’s not horrible. 😀

    February 23, 2014 at 2:09 pm

  9. Oh, intriguing, This snippet formed lots of questions in my mind–and I mean that ina very good way. Good 8!

    February 23, 2014 at 4:13 pm

  10. Why is single so potentially inflammatory?

    February 23, 2014 at 8:42 pm

  11. Single written on a locker. Must be pre Facebook status updates? Or not?

    February 25, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    • Haha, not a bad guess! This story takes place about a century from now, so it’s more like a post-FB status update. 😀

      March 1, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Let your voice be heard!

