History from a father’s point of view…

Embed from Getty Images

 

Hola, snippet lovers!

Another weekend, another snippet, and another submission for Psyche and the gang.

This is right after last week’s, in which Ivar tried to speak for his sister and was immediately shouted down. You can find that one here.  Instead of a plot point, I give you character development and family dynamics in action. Lindy (Psyche’s dad) is a history teacher, can you tell? 🙂

“Ivar only wants you to be safe, as we all do, you’re the beautiful flower of our family and we love you deji.”

“I know, I’m sorry for shouting, Daddy.”

“And will you apologize to your brother for using that horrendous nickname?”

“Okay, but I’m not the one who started it and I’m not beautiful.”

He held her at arm’s length, his large hands warming her shoulders, the pain on his face unmistakable.

“You are—if you had lived in another century soldiers would fight wars for the privilege of giving you tribute.” He traced her profile, from her hairline and down over her classic Indian nose, to her chin with his fingertip. “This profile would be on coins and tapestries and—”

Thanks for reading!

 480757_438719269537453_1567642478_n

1494f-wewriwa_button

Don’t forget to hop around and check out the rest of the snippets! The Snippet Sunday group is amazing, and you’re bound to find something cool on the list at Weekend Writing Warriors!

1464628_182204511985694_1312997589_n

17 responses

  1. I love it, Charli–and I can tell her dad’s a history professor. I can see the look on his face. Wonderful!

    March 8, 2014 at 2:39 pm

  2. Desiree' D'Muir

    (I really want to know more about this world. Is there something I missed about “single” being bad?)

    I love this exchange:
    “And will you apologize to your brother for using that horrendous nickname?”

    “Okay, but I’m not the one who started it…”

    But this…
    “You are—if you had lived in another century soldiers would fight wars for the privilege of giving you tribute.” He traced her profile, from her hairline and down over her classic Indian nose, to her chin with his fingertip. “This profile would be on coins and tapestries and—”

    I’m torn between thinking it’s sweet and thinking that it’s a little too creepy from father to daughter…

    March 8, 2014 at 3:14 pm

    • Nope, you didn’t miss anything–I’m trying not to give too much away while the book is out on sub. 🙂

      I hope it comes off as sweet because that’s how it was meant. He’s trying to encourage a healthy self-image and, as her dad, he also honestly thinks she’s beautiful. 🙂

      March 8, 2014 at 7:16 pm

  3. Karen Michelle Nutt

    I love the exchange and the way the father handle the situation with words to make her think.

    March 8, 2014 at 5:04 pm

  4. All Daddies should be as affirming as he is and all kids need to hear that their parents think they’re wonderful. I really like this.

    Though when I was her age, I’m sure the next thing out of my mouth would be, “Thank you, but that doesn’t help me in THIS century.” 😀

    March 9, 2014 at 8:09 am

    • Thanks, Sarah!
      I tried to figure out how to work the creative punctuation angle and show her reaction, but it made things too difficult to read. Maybe next week. 🙂

      March 9, 2014 at 12:06 pm

  5. The father’s love for his daughter comes through in this excerpt. Just lovely.

    March 9, 2014 at 11:13 am

  6. You can tell how much he loves her.

    March 9, 2014 at 2:25 pm

  7. When the dad made the comment about being beautiful in a different century, I thought he was speaking from experience. I guess I take ‘living history’ too far? LOL.

    Touching excerpt.

    March 9, 2014 at 3:02 pm

    • That would be cool–but also a different kind of story. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by, Karysa!

      March 9, 2014 at 7:40 pm

  8. Sounds like a loving family that doesn’t always know how to show their love.

    March 9, 2014 at 8:54 pm

  9. You caught the father’s love for his daughter beautifully in this snippet. Reprimand with love.

    March 10, 2014 at 6:29 am

  10. I’m not sure that him telling her is going to make her feel it.

    March 14, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Let your voice be heard!

