It’s not our fault…

Two-Colored Heart Puzzle Showing Previous Engagement And Missing Romance

Happy Caturday all!

I’ve missed snippeting with you, so I decided even with 21 days left in my final term, I wouldn’t let myself get too busy to partake. This week I’m sharing from a different story:  It’s Not Our Fault. This strange little story is out on submission, and if it’s really lucky it may find a home in Harmony Ink’s First Time for Everything anthology. It’s a Contemporary, but still has a surprise or two!

“It’s Not Our Fault” is narrated by Jordan Pond. He graduated from high school a year early and found the three weeks between his best friend returning to school and the day classes start at the community college to be a tad boring.

I almost left before she even came in, but for some reason I lingered over the crumbs of my cake and the dregs of my cappuccino. I hadn’t believed in fate any more than pairing up before then, but something kept me in that chair.

I saw her as I got up to leave, holding a bottle of berry-flavored tea in one many-ringed hand and chewing on her pinkie fingernail. She stood at the bakery counter, trying to decide between a cinnamon roll and a muffin. Eventually, she used the time-tested “eeny-meeny-miney-mo” method. At first I thought she might’ve been a boy, which still would’ve been cool but in a different way. Anyone wearing a black hoody sweatshirt with that sign safety-pinned to the back over black jeans and heavy black boots had to be cool, but a girl…I had to know her. The sign was a square of black fabric with lettering in white Olde English script, each word capitalized with a flourish, like you’d expect the first letter of every chapter in a first-edition Dickens novel to look. The solitary sentence read: It’s Not Our Fault Your Children Masturbate.

 

Thanks for reading!

Don’t forget to hop around for more snippets on Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday!

1494f-wewriwa_button480757_438719269537453_1567642478_n

9 responses

  1. Great description. You make the readers want to know that person in black, too.
    Kudos!

    May 25, 2014 at 6:10 am

  2. She does sound interesting! I’d love to see where this goes.

    May 25, 2014 at 9:11 am

  3. Cool in a different way, regardless of gender—I’d like to know more, too!

    May 25, 2014 at 11:58 am

  4. siobhanmuir

    Oh! Great last line – and I totally agree. Fun snippet, Charli.

    May 25, 2014 at 12:02 pm

  5. Nice work. I’m glad you revealed what was written on the sign!

    May 25, 2014 at 10:25 pm

  6. Fabulous! I’d laugh for sure if I saw someone wearing that sign.

    May 26, 2014 at 12:08 am

  7. Pingback: It’s official! | Charli Green: YA LGBT Fiction, Books for the Bs

  8. She does seem like an interesting character.

    May 31, 2014 at 5:34 am

  9. Pingback: A magnetic bit of snippetry… | Charli Green: YA LGBT Fiction, Books for the Bs

Let your voice be heard!

