A new friend…

Chapter one

Happy Caturday!

By the time you read this, I’ll probably be sitting for my last final exam (or at least on my way to that long-awaited, mythical place). In that spirit, I’m sharing from a new story today—it’s so new it doesn’t even have a working title yet.

This is 8 from a bit of flash I wrote to get to know my main character, Sam Baker, a little better. The first line is her older brother Josh, who’s not always a jerk but is pretty much a normal brother—he truly enjoys tormenting her.

 

“What are you doing, Samantha?”

“Making a list. Why, you writing a book?”

“What kind of list?”

“None of your business.” Ten more days until Josh would leave for college—two thousand miles might be far enough to keep him from poking his long pointy nose into everything I do.

“Things you wish you hadn’t done? You could start it with kissing a girl, and end it with kissing a boy.”

10-1113tm-vector2-3718

Thanks for reading!

On Sunday I begin my life as a non-student (that’s a word!) and I plan to bat clean-up on Psyche’s story before I go any further with Sam’s. Depending on how that goes, next week I may share a little more from Psyche’s future world.

Don’t forget to hop around and check out the rest of the snippets. The Snippet Sunday group is amazing, and you’re bound to find something cool on the list at Weekend Writing Warriors!

Have a great weekend!

 480757_438719269537453_1567642478_n

1494f-wewriwa_button

 

13 responses

  1. I like the dialog. Sounds like two people who know each other well and as readers, we can eavesdrop on their conversation and learn more about both of them. Good dialog helps me as a reader develop mental images of the characters. You don’t need as much detailed descriptions that way.
    Kudos!

    June 14, 2014 at 7:06 pm

  2. I can feel her annoyance.

    June 14, 2014 at 11:22 pm

  3. siobhanmuir

    I recognize that from #ThursThreads! Great snippet, Charli. 🙂

    June 15, 2014 at 8:58 am

  4. Big brothers are such a comfort. 😛

    This snippet definitely rings true.

    June 15, 2014 at 9:51 am

  5. Irritation at its best…. lol

    June 15, 2014 at 11:04 am

  6. Glad you clarified he’s not always like that. First thought that went through my head? ‘What a jerk!’ LOL. Great dialogue.

    June 15, 2014 at 11:09 am

  7. Just as glad I never had a big brother.

    June 15, 2014 at 12:35 pm

  8. Great dialogue. You really captured the brother/sister dynamic in a few short lines.

    June 15, 2014 at 2:00 pm

  9. He certainly does sound like an annoying brother, well done! Great snippet…

    June 15, 2014 at 2:22 pm

  10. Nice snippet–you know I love those annoying brothers–LOL

    June 15, 2014 at 4:45 pm

  11. Great piece of dialogue & interaction…

    June 16, 2014 at 5:05 pm

  12. This makes me glad that I don’t have big brothers. LOL

    June 17, 2014 at 12:55 pm

  13. Ha! Nice bit of dialogue. Good sense of both of their characters:)

    July 13, 2014 at 8:46 am

Let your voice be heard!

