Following up on the feels…

Happy Caturday!

I went through the galley proof for “It’s Not Our Fault” today! I already had a huge soft spot for those two kids, but the editors at Harmony Ink helped me polish the story and now it really shines. I can’t wait for September, so I can share it with everyone!

Since I got sideswiped by the Jordan/Nay feels today, this snippet is from their story. I’ve skipped a few sentences past their last snippet, hopefully it’s as easy to follow as… a hot chick out of a café.

 

I hung around while she ate her cinnamon roll, and when she left I followed her.

Out on the street, it was easy to stay close without getting caught. I didn’t want her to think I was a stalker or anything. I kept my distance, watching the back of her head, hypnotized by the heavy swing of her hair, so I didn’t notice where she was going until she went into the green entrance of Powell’s City of Books. I thought I’d have a joygasm when she stopped to browse in the sci-fi section, but I managed to maintain my composure and settled in to browse there too. How was I going to get up the nerve to talk to her, a goddess, a goth, sci-fi, masturbating goddess?

I’m not worthy.

I’d started to talk myself into leaving when a girl came up and gave her a hug; she called my goddess Nay.

 

 Thanks for reading!

I hope you’re enjoying my YA snippets. Don’t forget to check out the other contributors to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday!

301890_381895518514154_521733880_n

 

13 responses

  1. Strong voice! I am interested to see where this leads, and how you develop their relationship 🙂 Great snippet!

    July 26, 2014 at 4:06 pm

  2. Allyson

    I totally can’t wait to read more!

    July 27, 2014 at 6:21 am

  3. Congrats on getting that galley proof! I’d never heard the word, “joygasm”. It works. 🙂

    BIG congrats on earning your degree AND getting a job! 🙂 Welcome back, Charli. 🙂

    July 27, 2014 at 8:37 am

  4. This is so much fun, Charli! The narrator’s voice is compulsively readable.

    September can’t arrive quickly enough!

    July 27, 2014 at 10:13 am

  5. Glad to see someone who likes scifi enough to be attracted to a girl who likes it.

    July 27, 2014 at 11:38 am

  6. So much to love in this snippet! I really enjoy your way with words and joygasm is terrific 🙂 Great 8!

    July 27, 2014 at 1:28 pm

  7. That’s a great lead-in. Very interested to see how this works itself out.

    July 27, 2014 at 2:34 pm

  8. Karen Michelle Nutt

    Enjoyed the snippet. You drew me right into the scene. What and engaging inner voice. Congrats on your upcoming release, too! So exciting.

    July 27, 2014 at 3:09 pm

  9. Thanks so much for all of your kind comments! 😀

    July 27, 2014 at 4:36 pm

  10. siobhanmuir

    What a sweet snippet, Charli. 🙂

    July 28, 2014 at 10:51 am

  11. That was awesome! I love the voice of your character.

    July 31, 2014 at 9:18 am

  12. Pingback: It’s not stalking if you’re a nice guy… | Charli Green: YA LGBT Fiction, Books for the Bs

  13. I really like this. You have a wonderful voice. This sounds like a fun read.

    http://joycelansky.blogspot.com

    August 3, 2014 at 9:21 am

Let your voice be heard!

