Caught!

shutterstock_176272790Hola, snippet-lovers!

This snippet skips ahead a bit. Poor Jordan has followed the object of his affections to Powell’s City of Books, and straight into the sci-fi section. (heh) After working up the nerve to open his mouth and say hello, this happens.

 

At first I didn’t think she heard me, but slowly she turned her whole body to face me. “Why did you stalk me from the deli?”

It felt very hot in the sci-fi section all of a sudden. “Because I want to know you.”

She raised her eyebrows and grinned.

“You seem like an intriguing person.”

She kept grinning at me, her perfect yellow eyebrows raised. I felt like a bird in a cage, the door open and a cat’s grinning face in front of me.

 

1964901_291017347718117_2097582438_nAnd I just realized that I haven’t shared the blurb for this story! I have no explanation, so I’ll just share it now.

Jordan Pond graduated from high school a year early. He didn’t know he’d have three weeks to fill before his first day of classes at the community college. He also didn’t know that during those seemingly endless weeks he’d have an awkward painful experience at Powell’s City of Books that might turn out to be the best thing that ever happened to him, even if it causes him to question everything he thought he knew about himself.

 

Thanks for reading!

Come back on Tuesday, when I’ll be hosting a cover reveal for Lou Hoffman’s upcoming book Key of Behliseth! The story sounds cool, and the cover is purty.

 

Don’t forget to check out the other contributors to Weekend Writing Warriors and Snippet Sunday!

301890_381895518514154_521733880_n

18 responses

  1. Liked the analogy with the cat and the bird cage.
    Kudos!

    August 9, 2014 at 6:32 pm

  2. Whoa. Nice final image! 🙂

    I love the premise and the cover.

    August 10, 2014 at 7:59 am

  3. I like the cat, too. But aren’t yellow eyebrows a bit hard to see?

    August 10, 2014 at 11:03 am

    • Thanks for commenting, Sueann. Maybe, but they’re standing awfully close… maybe a little too close for Jordan’s comfort. 😉

      August 10, 2014 at 2:43 pm

  4. I love this line: “It felt very hot in the sci-fi section all of a sudden.” Actually, this whole snippet is great and I have to wonder if she’s grinning because she doesn’t know what to say next or because that’s the answer she hoped for.

    August 10, 2014 at 11:04 am

    • Thanks for visiting, P.T.! Hard to say… a grin can mean so many things. *g*

      August 10, 2014 at 2:44 pm

  5. I really like this line: “I felt like a bird in a cage, the door open and a cat’s grinning face in front of me.” Nicely done!

    August 10, 2014 at 2:39 pm

  6. Caught is right! This snippet is fantastic. Great job.

    August 10, 2014 at 3:19 pm

  7. That encounter didn’t go at all the way I expected, which is fun and intriguing and makes me want to read more, definitely. Great 8!

    August 10, 2014 at 4:15 pm

    • I LOVE it when readers say that! *snoopy dances*

      Thanks for your comment, Veronica!

      August 10, 2014 at 4:31 pm

  8. What a lovely interaction… it feels very real. Nice work.

    August 10, 2014 at 6:36 pm

  9. I’m glad she confronted him about the stalking part. It could have turned creepy.

    August 11, 2014 at 11:32 am

  10. Agree with Linda. I like the confrontation. Good lines!

    August 11, 2014 at 12:48 pm

  11. Pingback: An explosive snippet… | Charli Green: YA LGBT Fiction, Books for the Bs

Let your voice be heard!

