Aaaaand, scene!

 medium_7566249234It’s the weekend! For those in the US, I hope you’re getting a long one too—I’ve been looking forward to this. 🙂

This week’s snippet gets us almost to the end of poor Jordan’s “awkward, painful experience in Powell’s City of Books.” Please ignore the creative punctuation—my editor wouldn’t let this through on her worst day!

It’s probably obvious, but the first line is Nay’s.

 

“Asshole, don’t stalk. It’s not sexy, even if you are cute,” she hissed, her cinnamon breath caressing my lips. When her knee moved back up the inside of my thigh, I didn’t think anything of it until it connected, a little too hard, right where I was feeling so good; my on/off switch.

 

WHEN THE world wasn’t made of pain anymore and I could open my eyes, I found myself slumped on the floor with my back against the stacks. A guy dressed in a strange combination of thrift-store, preppy, and a Powell’s name badge stood over me. “You okay?” He was grinning.

After three tries I could say “Yes.”

“Then you’ll have to leave—you can’t stalk people here, it’s against store policy.”

Thanks for reading!

The anthology will be released on September 4th, so next week’s snippet will clear up the question that may (or may not) be nagging at you. Nope, not posting the question until then.

In the meantime, hop around and sample more delectable morsels of fiction. You can find them at Snippet Sunday and Weekend Writing Warriors.

 ITSNOTOURFAULT_FBThumb

 

9 responses

  1. Points for the Powell’s Guy! 😀

    I think Jordan has learned a little lesson here…

    August 31, 2014 at 7:14 am

  2. Poor Jordan. I don’t think he was stalking so much as following an infatuation and wanting to get to know the person of interest. I hope things start looking up for the poor guy soon.

    August 31, 2014 at 9:32 am

  3. Nice job of painting the scene in words. You know that hurt, lol.
    Juneta at Writer’s Gambit

    August 31, 2014 at 10:21 am

  4. “A guy dressed in a strange combination of thrift-store, preppy, and a Powell’s name badge stood over me.” love that description, very effective in just one sentence

    August 31, 2014 at 10:42 am

  5. Love that “against store policy.”

    August 31, 2014 at 12:48 pm

  6. What a great ending to the “stalking”! Thoroughly enjoyed the snippet…

    August 31, 2014 at 6:21 pm

  7. Nice, crisp dialogue. Fluid writing, and that last line is perfect!

    September 1, 2014 at 7:19 am

  8. That cinnamon breath is a sensory image that really makes this scene real. Great stuff.

    September 1, 2014 at 9:09 pm

  9. That totally made me laugh. So hilarious, I like how she got him. Don’t stalk, don’t stalk.

    September 2, 2014 at 4:31 am

Let your voice be heard!

